How to remove your phone numbers from Facebook

Facebook regularly sparks outrage with its updates.

The latest issue has been highlighted by a slightly hysterical status update being passed around:

"OMG this is for real everyone!!!! Warning to ALL …ALL THE PHONE NUMBERS IN YOUR PHONE are now on Facebook! No joke – go to the top right of the screen, click on Account, then click on Edit Friends, go left on the screen and click Contacts. All phone numbers are published!! Please re-post this on your Status, so you r friends can remove their numbers and thus prevent abuse if they do not want them published."


It turns out Facebook has been gathering the contact numbers from people who have synced their iPhone or Android with the social networking site, and helpfully uploading them into a contacts book.

Facebook points out that these contacts are only visible to the account holder, not any of the user's friends.

However, Facebook is notorious for adding new 'features' that may have implications for privacy, without informing users or letting them know how to protect themselves, and many people are not very enthusiastic about trusting the site with this information.

Removing your contacts


First, you will need to ensure your phone stops uploading numbers when you sync. Using your iPhone app in your iPhone, select Friends. Tap the sync button on the top right and tap sync contacts. Turn off syncing. For Android users, go to the main menu, click on setting, then go to other settings. Select Sync Contacts. Select Remove Facebook data.

Now your phone is no longer updating all your numbers, you need to go to Facebook and click Remove on this page. And you're safe. For now.

Need an ADSL2+ plan or mobile broadband plan to access your Facebook account? Give us a call on 1300 106 571 or use our broadband finder tool to find the best plan.